New Smyrna Museum of History Preservation Awards 2021

We Invite you to Submit Applications for the Inaugural NSMoH Preservation Awards 2021

Application Deadline September 30, 2021

Fill out an application online or print application and email completed applications to:

• Acceptable format: PDF, Word .doc/.docx *Images must be saved as individual .jpgs *Max.
Size 32 MB per document sent

The Purpose of the Historic Preservation Awards is to raise awareness of the historic legacy of Southeast Volusia County.

To Recognize individuals, businesses, and organizations in the community who have made outstanding contributions to historic preservation.

To Showcase exemplary preservation throughout the community that may serve as inspiration for future preservation.

To Encourage authentic preservation of historic homes or buildings that may prevent future demolition of historic properties.

To Educate the community on the merits of historic architecture and preservation.

To Promote design standards aligned with the historic period of homes or buildings.

Washington E. Connor Restoration Award
“Recognizes outstanding preservation projects that highlight cutting-edge restoration”.
Dr. Andrew Turnbull Preservation Award
“Recognizes superlative achievement over time in the preservation of architectural heritage.”
William M. Gillespie Leadership Award
Recognizes a leader who has made significant achievements in preservation.
Timucuan Heritage Preservation Award
Recognizes an individual or group that has demonstrated achievement in historic preservation.
Jane Murray Sheldon Preservation Award
Recognizes an individual who has made extraordinary contributions toward saving an historic place.

Historic Preservation Awards Criteria

  • Benefit or impact of the project to the greater community
  • Quality and degree of craftsmanship, scope or difficulty of the project
  • Degree to which the project is unusual or pioneering or may serve as an example
  • Degree to which the project adheres to reasonable historic property standards
  • The structure contributes to the historic character of a designated district
  • Structures where major original features have been carefully preserved or replicated
  • The project must be complete before deadline to be considered

Gold Sponsors

Indigo Dental
Sally Gillespie

Silver Sponsors

Lisa and Frank Polhill
Patrick Mooney


Bo Liess
Buzzy & Gwen Hughes
Charles R. Adams & Associates
Coastal Interiors
Dianne Bean
Dr. C. Thomas & Debra Exum
Drs. Debbi Strahman & Claude Fennema
Drs. W. Randolph Herman & Angeline Baretta-Herman
Ignacio Barsotelli / DiLuna Homes
Island Collections / Phil & Regina Carpenter
James M. Kosmas, P.A.
Kevin Schweizer, Architect
Mark R. Hall, P.A.
Panheads Pizza / Eric Ross
Pink Flamingos at Petals
Signature Creative / John Gheur
Smith & Associates Insurance
Southern Trends Home Furnishings
Will Miller
Curtis and Laura Hodges, Hodges Brothers Inc.,
Gregory Holbrook, LLC.

Friends of Preservation Contributors

Bishop's Body Shop & Wrecker Service
Black Dolphin B&B
Carla & Mike Andersen
Corkscrew Bar & Grille
Jeannie & Dale Barger
NSB Outfitters
Renewals Bookstore / Deb Bell
Rosanne & Jim Vezzi
Sandy & Doug Ziemer
Terry Penn
Garriques & Associates
Lillian Conrad

Historic Preservation Awards Board Members 2021 - 2022

  • Dr. Angeline Barretta-Herman, Co-Chair, NSBHPC
  • Deb Exum, Co-Chair, REALTOR®, Historic Home Owner
  • Diane Bean, Design Professional, Historic Home Owner
  • Sally Gillespie, Preservationist, NSBRC
  • Curtis Hodges, Licensed Contractor, NSBHPC
  • Greg Holbrook, ED, New Smyrna Museum of History, REALTOR®, VCHPB
  • Gwen Hughes, Photographer, Artist